This regular feature brings you all the latest news pertaining to all things arbitral.

Virtual modus operandi heralds 40th AGM

The Association’s 40th AGM

For the first time in 40 years, the Association was prevented from having its AGM and gala dinner in the usual format.

Instead, dictated by COVID-19 lockdown restrictions applicable at the time, the 2020 AGM was held in the form of a Zoom conference attended directly and by proxy by 155 members from all over Southern Africa and elsewhere, including from the USA, the UK, Botswana, Ghana, Nigeria and Uganda.  The number of members who registered was an all-time record for the Association.  Due to the electronic format of the meeting, the Board decided to limit the agenda only to items strictly required by the Association’s company rules.  Those were a vote on a resolution to amend the company rules to include a code of ethics, the presentation of the Association’s 2019/2020 Board approved annual financial statements and to announce the results of the 2020/2021 directors’ election.

Our chairperson, Advocate Pierre Rossouw SC, provided members with an overview of the activities of the Association and its KwaZulu-Natal and Western Cape branches during 2019 and 2020.  The resolution to include a code of ethics (accessible by clicking on this link) in the company rules was carried by a majority of 144 members in favour, 1 against and 10 abstaining.  The annual financial statements were presented and our treasurer, Advocate Des Mahony, responded to members’ financial questions.  Our general manager, Rochelle Appleton, announced the results of the 2020/2021 directors’ election as follows:

  • Adv Tjaart van der Walt SC – 98 votes
  • Adv Pierre Rossouw SC – 96 votes
  • Mr Chris Binnington – 85 votes
  • Adv Eric Dunn SC – 84 votes
  • Mr Francois Spies – 76 votes
  • Mr Mark Hamilton – 74 votes
  • Mr Armando Aguiar – 69 votes
  • Mr Gareth Ahier – 67 votes

Subsequently, at their first meeting, the new Board co-opted Advocate Kiki Bailey SC and Advocate Des Mahony CA (SA) as additional directors and elected Advocate Pierre Rossouw SC as chairperson, Advocate Tjaart van der Walt SC as vice-chairperson, and Advocate Des Mahony as treasurer.

The presence of Advocate Kiki Bailey SC as the first female director on the Board, the well-balanced presence of senior legal practitioners and senior built environment professionals on the Board, and the re-election of the majority of the 2019/2020 Board members are significant and satisfying developments.

I am well acquainted with each of the Association’s new directors and with their exceptional commitment, talents and experience.  I state with confidence that we have an exceptional team at the helm.  Great things await in the year ahead.

As the new Board, we sincerely appreciate all members’ contributions throughout the year on all levels and at an unusual but highly successful AGM.  We accept the trust placed in us with humble appreciation.

A gala dinner is under consideration.  An announcement will follow as soon as it is possible and deemed safe.

Members who were unable to attend our 2020 AGM will soon receive a copy of the minutes of the AGM together with a link to a recording of the event.

Adv Tjaart van der Walt, SC